As of the end of April 2016, the commonwealth government maintained an estimated 1,181 entities, bodies, and administrative relationships.

Of those 1,181 entities and bodies, 497 are estimated to be involved in policy design or enforcement of the federal regulatory system.

It is estimated that 444 government bodies established by the Rudd and Gillard governments continue to exist, and 198 of these involved in the regulatory system.

A large number of these bodies are regulatory agencies imposing excessive and unnecessary red tape upon the Australian economy, including the Fair Work Commission, National Heavy Vehicle Regulator, Safe Work Australia, and the Workplace Gender Equality Agency.

The Abbott Turnbull government has indicated it has abolished 286 bodies since the 2013 election, but several bodies previously scheduled for abolition remain in place today.